top of page

My Calling


Discovering My Calling

I have no doubt that God has called me into ministry. I felt this call pretty early on in high school, but ignored it for a long time because I felt the need to get "a real job." I loved youth group growing up. It was always the highlight of my week. The reason I loved it so much was because of the community of leaders and peers who pushed me to love Jesus and others better. I knew that I wanted to be able to provide that same love and community development to students in the future. As I was applying to Biola University, I applied as undeclared but halfway through the summer before my freshmen year I realized that I couldn’t see myself doing anything else, so I declared as Christian Ministries. As I've continued to take classes and be involved in ministry, that calling has been confirmed in me.

Specific Calling in Ministry

I was first drawn to youth ministry specifically because of how much God changed my life being a participant in it. Then right after high school I got involved with Sonshine Ministries, a houseboat summer camp. I was on staff working with junior highers and high schoolers and I fell even more in love with that age group. I continued to work with Sonshine for the next two summers, and with every church that came up and every new student I met, I felt progressively more confident in my love for students. Being around them feels so natural and comfortable. I find myself desiring and enoying to be around junior high and high school students. I have also been in two internships with high school youth groups and I felt like I was thriving there.

One important thing that I learned about my specific calling through these different ministry experiences is that I enjoy long-term ministry. Building relationships with campers for a week and then not knowing if I would ever be able to see them again was so hard for me. I wanted so badly to go home with them to follow-up and be involved in their lives. Being in the internship I am at right now, I have been with these students for six months now, which is the longest I have ever done, and it feels so much more life-giving and beneficial to me. I desire to invest in students. It seems harder for me to follow the Great Commission of “making disciples” (Matt 28:19) if I am not doing life with the people I am serving.

Desired Career

Given the passions, skills, and experience God has given me, my career aspiration is definitely in youth ministry. I am open to what that could look like specifically, but the goal right now is to be working in a youth group at a church. I have chosen this path because it seems to be the best way to be with a group of students long-term and walk through the discipleship process with them.

Summary

God has called me to work in long-term youth ministry, possibly in the church, but I am open to wherever God decides to lead me.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page